Sail away, sail away, kerplunk

So, today, the boy and I went sailing on the Charles. He has a membership there and we tried to go out the other day, but there were whitecaps and I don’t like sailing when the chances of me falling in the drink are elevated.  We decided today was a lovely day to go, though, and set off on our adventure.

The sailing itself was nice. Not too many other boats out since it was overcast, but there was still a good breeze. I was taking pictures with my camera and got a bunch of good ones of the Boy and the scenery and he got a good one of me.

When coming in to dock, however, I had a job to do. I was supposed to reach out, grab the dock, and jump out while holding a line to hold the boat against the dock. The first part went fine, even the second part went fine. However, when I leaned out to get out of the boat under the boom, my camera fell from its ultra-safe hiding place of inside my life jacket and fell 5 feet to the bottom of the Charles River.

So angry at myself…I came within a half inch of grabbing it from the water, but those things sink quick! I feel really bad for polluting the waters of the Charles, but I feel really angry that my camera that I was going to use next weekend is gone and stupid that I didn’t keep a better hold on it. Also, it had my larger memory card in it so that is annoying as well.

I have been meaning to get a new small camera, but do not relish looking for a new one. And I doubt a new one will come in the mail before next Friday. But who knows, maybe I’ve paid my dues to Murphy this week?

Leave a Reply

